navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Class Reunion
2001-07-16, 7:01 a.m.

My 20th high school class reunion is coming up in August. I've received the invitation, all the propoganda. I'm starting to get email from former classmates. Apparently, it's a pretty big deal.

Forget that it's a 4 hour drive one way, which would be very difficult with a squirming 17 month old toddler. It's also very expensive. The tickets to the event are about $100, and the hotel isn't cheap either. We'd also have to pack a truck load of stuff for B, so she could be comfortable staying at her Grampa's while we were reuniting with people I seldom think about.

The fact of the matter is, I just don't want to go. I discovered a long time ago that when I did get together with old high school pals, we had very little in common, and not a lot to talk about. Most of my old friends are still living in the same town we all grew up in. They married their high school sweethearts, and never ventured far from home. I, on the other hand, moved away from home at 18, moved a little farther at 22, and even farther still at 31. I've been on the move my whole adult life.

It's strange to think that I loved a lot of these people in my younger days. They were my best friends. My comrades. The things we did together, the dreams we shared, will always hold a special place in my heart. But these people are strangers now. I've been away. I haven't seen them grow into the 38 year old adults they are now. I don't know their kids - they don't know mine. I suppose that's the purpose of reunions. To reunite people. But I just don't feel like it. I can't muster the interest. I wonder why that is.

I honestly can't say why I have absolutely no desire to go to my high school reunion. I'm going to have to do some thinking about this.


0 Comment(s)

last - next