navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

To win the lottery...
2001-07-17, 7:21 a.m.

I bought a lottery ticket this morning. The jackpot is $19 million. Oh, what I could do with $19 million smackeroos.

First thing I'd do is (gasp!) quit my job. With no notice, of course. C'mon. If they were going to fire me, would they give *me* notice? I don't think so.

Then I'd call my dad and tell him to quit his job immediately. Which I know he'd gladly do. That's the absolute BEST thing I can think of to do. Give my dad early retirement. With all the bells and whistles. Set him up for the rest of his life.

I suppose I would then consult with the prerequisite attorneys and accountants, and figure out the best way to manage such a huge sum of money.

I don't know if P would quit his job. His is more a career, a passion, than just a job. If he weren't an aero engineer, I don't know what he'd do. It's in his blood. Hmmm. I'll have to ask him about that (just in case!).

I'm sure that everyone in our immediate families, and our close friends, would all get something. I don't know what the standard lottery gift is these days, but I'm sure it would be enough to cover their existing mortgages. If not more. Depends on who it is!

There are a few other people in our lives, P's and mine separately, who I'm sure we'd want to surprise with a cash gift. People who have helped us, touched us, in ways they don't even know about. Like my former boss, who mentored me and treated me like a friend. Made me like coming to work. I'd enjoy giving him some money. And B's first babysitter, a young girl who made room for B and worked around my schedule to ease the stress of me going back to work. I'd give her and her husband a chunk of cash for a downpayment on a house. And there are others. Lots of people I'd want to give gifts to, to repay kindnesses and good deeds.

And let's not forget the charitable organizations that would by vyeing for donations. I'd have to set up a foundation or something to dole out the funds to worthy causes. And I'd enjoy doing it.

It's a little heady to think about, actually. How life changing it would be, to win the lottery. I'm pretty sure I could handle it. I'm reasonable and practical, but the temptations would be fierce, I'm sure. It would probably be easy to go from mild mannered spendthrift to frenzied spend-a-holic, running from store to store, buying up everything in sight. Buying buildings and subdivisions. Blech. I would pray for sanity and calmness.

Seems kind of silly to even think about, doesn't it? I mean, what are the chances? 1 in 900 gazillion? Still, I've got my ticket. For a buck, I've purchased 15 minutes of daydreams. A few moments of wishful thinking. Starry-eyed what-ifs.

It's a good value, I think.


0 Comment(s)

last - next