navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

The Biter
2001-06-04, 12:12 p.m.

My daughter's daycare is really good. Since it's provided by my husband's employer, it is being used as a prototype for companies all over the country. The first time I visited, I remember being in awe, walking around with my mouth gaping open. I would have paid three times as much, just to have her there (not really, but you get the point).

That said, we're having a problem that the teachers and staff seem unable to deal with to my satisfaction.

There's a biter in B's class. B has been bitten so many times I've lost count. Last week she even got bitten twice in one day. The kid bites her so hard that sometimes there are teeth marks for days. You know that's gotta hurt.

The first couple of times it happened, I was bothered, but, toddlers sometimes bite, so it's probably not the kind of thing a mom should freak out about, because it happens. But then it kept happening, and starting to become a regular occurence. By the time she had been bitten six times in a 3 week period, I was getting angry. I requested a meeting with the director, I made phone calls, I met with B's teachers. Everyone agreed it had to stop. That it was a big problem. I worried he might break the skin -- THEN what do we do?

I was comforted a little by the knowledge that he doesn't just bite my daughter. He bites all the kids. At least that's what they told me. He doesn't pick on B; all the kids get it from him. Oh, okay. At least he spreads it around.

Then I started thinking: No way. No *#$%ing way. If this kid bites ALL the kids as much as he bites B, there would have been a parental UPROAR by now. It seems like I'm the only one complaining, so NO WAY. After I'd asked them a few times about this, finally someone told me that yeah, he does bite B more, but that's only because he's around her the most. What? Well, get him the hell away from her! (I didn't say it like that, but you know, that's what I was thinking).

Long story short (I know, I know -- too late!) nothing has been done yet. I told them last Thursday that I didn't care if they had to put a freaking fence down the middle of the room, I didn't want that child in a position to bite my daughter again. I wanted her out of harm's way. Period. They told me yes, they agreed. Friday, he wouldn't be in her room. They'd put him someplace else, blah blah blah. Guess what? He was in there on Friday. Luckily he didn't bite her that day. But he's back in the room today -- will he bite her today? What about tomorrow? Honestly, I want him placed somewhere else.

I am not willing to move B to another room. I don't think that's fair. That would be like punishing her for another child's behavior. I think *he* needs to be moved. But they don't think that will "solve" the problem. Well, it would sure solve MY problem.

Ugh, I don't know what to do. I love that daycare, and I certainly don't intend to take her anywhere else. But I feel like I need to be appeased here, and it's not happening fast enough.

Advice on this matter is definitely welcome.


0 Comment(s)

last - next