navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Somebody to watch over me
2001-05-29, 1:29 p.m.

I have a portrait of my mother hanging on my bedroom wall. It's a beautiful picture, from when she was about 15 years old. It's one of those old, re-touched portraits (remember how they used to draw in eyelashes and eyebrows, and put pink on the lips and cheeks?) They're really cool pictures. Anyway, I made a nice wood frame for it, stained it to match my bedroom furniture, and found a place for it in my bedroom.

At first, P was kind of creeped out by it. You know, dead mother's portrait hanging on the wall above daughter's bed. Son-in-law feels like he's being watched all the time. That sort of thing.

Well, last night P told me he's started to like that picture up there. He said it gives him comfort, or something like that. And he said he talks to her...asks her advice, about me and other things. He feels like he's got an angel watching out for him too now. I've been telling him all along that she's the reason we found each other. Maybe now he's starting to believe me. He asked me if I thought she was hanging out in B's room, watching over her as she sleeps. I hadn't thought of it up to that point, but I had to say that yes, I bet she was.

I think we both enjoy thinking that's the case. I know I do.


0 Comment(s)

last - next