navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

It's a delicate balancing act
2001-05-26, 8:33 a.m.

Nothing too exciting these past few days... P came home on Thursday night. B and I met him at the airport, which he wasn't expecting, and gave him a warm homecoming. Yesterday I took a vacation day from work, and also took B to daycare so P and I could spend some time together. The weather here has been perfect, so we spent most of the day out on the deck, sitting under the umbrella, resting, and listening to mellow music on the CD player. It was so enjoyable. Very relaxing.

In the afternoon after we picked up B from daycare, we filled her little swimming pool with water (adding lots of warm water from the tap) and let her splash around naked, which she LOVES. She's got P's skin tone (thank GOD) so she's already starting to tan all over, despite my efforts at keeping her slathered in sunscreen. Year round she's got a beautiful olive complexion that makes my pale skin look even paler when we're side by side. P delights in teasing me about that.

The only downer has been that P was so exhausted from his trip, he had to postpone picking up K last night. He planned to pick her up in the early evening and take her home late tonight so he'd have as much time with her as possible. But he decided to pick her up this morning instead, and when he told N that he'd changed his plans, he received a frosty and short response of "Whatever. You tell her." Now, please understand that P loves his daughter immensely and values his time with her, but he was fatigued from his trip, suffering an allergy attack, and needed to sleep. It's about an hour round trip to pick her up. And then again to take her home. Which P has done faithfully and without complaint for the past 7 years every other weekend. I think sometimes he wishes that N would take on more of the responsibility of making sure K got to spend time with her father. He's always been the one who bore the burden of picking up and dropping off, and any deviation from that has been met with displeasure (which doesn't last long, fortunately). But still...

So after he'd hung up the phone, he was upset. And that made me upset. Our relationship with N and her husband (and entire family, for that matter) has been an enviable one. We consider them among our closest friends. We truly love them. P and N have worked very hard at always doing what's best for K, and whatever differences they may have had, have long been put aside. When B was born, N treated me and B like family. Filling a void created by my mother's passing. I had no one -- no sisters, no mom, and N was there. She was absolutely wonderful and I will always always always be grateful to her. But, as it always does, last night's tension reminded us of how delicate the relationship is. There is always an undercurrent of -- something. I don't know what it is. But when it surfaces, it's upsetting because in no way do we want to disturb the good thing we've got going with her and her family. They are our family.

So this morning I've decided to let P sleep in and B and I are going to make the drive to pick up K. And I hope N and I can share a few moments together to reconnect. Maybe that's it. Maybe we just haven't seen enough of her lately. I know she cares about us. And she adores B. She is B's appointed guardian if anything should happen to us! That's how much we think of her. So, yeah, I think maybe we just need to reconnect.

She's a wonderful person. But her moods catch us offguard at times. I hope we can smooth this over instantly this morning.

Have a safe and happy Memorial Day weekend. I think we will.


0 Comment(s)

last - next