navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

I'm anxious for P to come home
2001-05-23, 7:38 a.m.

Only 36 hours until P comes home. It's been weird with him gone. The house has been so quiet. I haven't heard his stereo blasting downstairs. I haven't had to pound on the floor all week to get him to turn it down. I haven't heard one single rant about the Lazy B, and no one has tried to explain to me the difference between the Sonic Cruiser and a super sonic jet. The latest episode of Masterpiece Theatre is a mystery to me, and I've nearly forgotten why Jane Austen is the greatest female writer of all time.

You see, these are the things P talks about with me. And more, of course, but he loves loves loves these things: airplanes, history, literature, and loud music. Not necessarily in that order. I've realized over the past several days how important these things have become to me, too. But not in their own right. They are important to me because they are important to P. I absolutely dig hearing him talk about the things he loves. He goes on and on and on. And I've learned a lot from him. Mostly about how to appreciate these subjects.

So in his absence this past week, I've missed this element in my life. Granted, I've been very busy being a single parent. I've enjoyed not having to tip-toe around our bedroom in the morning when I'm getting ready for work. I don't have to make coffee every morning (I don't drink coffee myself). I've been able to park in the middle of the driveway. I've had some really good quality time with B that's left me feeling both exhausted and closer to her. I've been able to eat McDonald's for dinner (P hates McDonald's). And I've enjoyed having B sleep in my bed with me every night. She snores a little, like P. It's very comforting and reassuring when she's close at night, and we're alone.

The week has been good in all these respects. But I'm ready for P to come home. I miss our conversations. I miss his hugs and kisses. I want to see him on the floor playing with B -- that makes me really happy. I want to hear *him* snoring beside me in bed at night. I miss his smell. I want to make him coffee in the morning. I want to hear him laugh at how my hair, when piled up on top of my head, makes me look like a pineapple. I miss his teasing. And I want to hear about the latest episode of Masterpiece Theatre. About who said what and did what to whom at the Lazy B. And why the Sonic Cruiser program will be a career maker for him. And I want to talk to him about B's week, how she was bitten twice at daycare, and how I gave her a bath in the kitchen sink last night because she's been wanting to sit in there for so long and I finally gave in. And how it was so fun.

Just 36 hours, and P will be home. And our lives will resume. I've enjoyed the intermission, but I'm ready..

***********************************

Here's a picture of B in her new lounge chair. Feel free to tell me how cute she is!


0 Comment(s)

last - next