navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Table for 30, anyone?
Tuesday, Feb. 24, 2004, 8:55 pm

I don�t know what I was thinking. Another Ch^ck E. Ch33se�s birthday party sounded like such a terrific idea. B is so excited to be turning four, and she is so into her birthday this year that I just wanted to have a little party for her. To make it special. And she really wanted to go there. Really, she loves that place.

So I got some invitations and started filling them out, and realized I couldn�t possibly invite some of the kids in her class and not others. They talk. They know who�s having a birthday, who�s having a party. I couldn�t stand it if some little kid got his/her feelings hurt because he/she didn�t get invited. So all 15 kids got invitations, and I really expected 4 or 5 to actually RSVP. And then there�s K and KC (brother and sister), and the two next door neighbor girls, and my co-worker�s daughter, who�s the same age as B. We were pregnant together, and our kids go to each other�s birthday parties. My hope, in all this, was to get a group of about 10 kids (including B). I figured that would make a nice party, and would stretch the limits of my endurance and budget. All of their parents (at least one each) will be in attendance too, after all. Pizza and drinks for everyone adds up fast.

With four days until the party, I have received 13 RSVP�s already. And I�m expecting a few more before Friday.

I�m starting to realize that 4 year old birthdays are of greater importance to kids than I ever imagined. And every single parent who�s RSVP�d has asked what B would like as a gift. In the beginning, I tried telling them that just being at the party was present enough for B, but soon discovered that wasn�t gonna cut it with the kids. They must bring a gift. It�s a law! After hearing enough parents tell me how important it was to their kid that they bring a birthday present, I just finally gave up trying to talk them out of it. My standard line became, �Well, anything will be just fine, but she is really into princesses at the moment.� I got a lot of, �Oh, yes, mine too. We know just what to get her.�

It�s the year of the princess, I think.

The thought of 13 (or more!) kids all bearing gifts is almost too much for me to comprehend. Seriously, if I had thought it through better, I would have limited the invitations to just girls, or just a few of her closest friends, or even just family and friends outside of school. Something! But the deed is done. It�s gonna be a blow-out party. Thank goodness for their party packages, though. Really, they take care of everything. All we have to do is show up, pretty much. I�m bringing our own cake, the order of which has already been revised (to make it bigger). Other than that, all that is required of us is our credit card. And considering each child costs $10.99, and then there�s the matter of the pizza and drinks for the adults, I�m expecting my credit card to get quite a workout. Let�s not forget all the extra tokens we�ll be buying.

Again, I ask, what was I thinking?


0 Comment(s)

last - next