navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Starting the long weekend at some point today
Wednesday, Nov. 26, 2003, 5:30 am

I'm planning on skipping out of work early today. We're having a potluck at work, for which I made my famous cocktail meatballs (simple but tasty). So I don't have to worry about breakfast or lunch today, because whenever we have potluck at work, there is so much food to graze on all day, one could make herself sick sampling everything.

Hoping to get out of the office by noon, then I'm getting my hair done at 1 pm. I'm overdue. I imagine my hair will be sighing in relief to be getting trimmed up and colored up (no grays for me, thankyouverymuch).

Food drive at work today, as well. I briefly considered doing a little shopping trip to buy some things for it, then I looked through my cupboards and realized I had enough stuff there to make a worthy contribution. So this morning I packed a grocery bag full of stuff I have purchased with the intentions of preparing for my family, but never did. Like boxes of spanish rice, macaroni and cheese, rice dishes, cans of fruit and soup and beans. And Spam. I bought a can of Spam for some reason (nostalgia?) and couldn't quite bring myself to ever open it, so I'm donating it. Someone somewhere will appreciate its Spammy goodness, I'm sure. Anyway, got a whole bag full of food to donate. I didn't have to go to the grocery store again, and my cupboards are a little less jammed.

After afore mentioned hair appointment, it's off to the daycare to pickup B, and then home to bake pumpkin pies. I promised her she could help. She digs holding the electric mixer.

S4rvivor is on tonight, and the previews are tantalizing. No cooking for this chica tonight. Pizza Hut, babeeee! The next four days will be busy, with Thanksgiving tomorrow, and then off to down yonder to prepare for the baby shower on Saturday. I have to provide lunch for 16 people, so I'm sure Friday will be spent grocery shopping and party planning. B is looking forward to seeing her Grampa, whom she adores. Kids have always loved my Dad.

My niece is excited for her party. I'm excited and happy to be the one giving it for her. She's the sweetest little gal in all the world, and I couldn't love her more. She's chosen a difficult path, to be sure, but I know she's got my Mom and my Grandma on the otherside watching out for her, so that makes me feel a lot better. And the boyfriend seems to be....well, a decent guy after all. Despite the no future thing and some past behavioral indiscretions, he seems to really adore my niece, and is being very supportive and loving about her pregnancy. And I'm thinking he's going to be a good dad. If he can just stay between the lines, keep himself out of trouble, and accept that he's an adult with major responsibilities. I think they'll make it.

Time to go. My shower is beckoning, and I have another new shirt to wear today. Whee!

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone!


0 Comment(s)

last - next