navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Pain, despair, and agony on me.
Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2003, 8:26 pm

Tired. Sore. Back, knees, and hands hurt. Can't seem to type complete sentences.

I spent all afternoon today re-doing a section of the floor that I wasn't happy with. According to the instructions, there must be 3/8ths inch expansion gap around all edges of the floor, including cabinets and doorways. Well. Our doorways have moulding around them, and leaving that kind of expansion gap meant that you could see it underneath the mouldings. It looked terrible. So I took it out and cut the flooring to fit close to the wall around the door mouldings. No expansion gap, but no gaps in the floor, either. It looks fabulous now. I also built a new threshhold for the doorway leading to the garage. Now that was tricky. I had to buy a hacksaw. And I cut metal. I hacksawed metal. The new threshhold meets up with my new floor so beautifully. As if Bob Vila himself had done the work. Go me.

Alas, there is a joint in my hallway that I do not like. No amount of tapping or pulling or cajoling will ease it into its proper place. So tomorrow I'll have to take it apart and re-do it. I am a perfectionist, it is true. But this is my house, and I want somebody to buy it from me some day, so it has to be good.

The good news is that I finished the laundry room, so we can bring in the washer and dryer finally, which have been sitting out on our FRONT porch for a few days now, along with our toilet. Yes, we are white trash. I'm sure our neighbors are thrilled to be living next to us.

Did I mention my hands are sore? From all this grabbing and grasping. And all the sawdust, I think. But thanks to some very good advice, I bought some excellent hand cream, which I am going to go liberally apply in just a little while. It helps a lot.

Not much to do about the muscle soreness except pop a few Tylenol PM and snuggle down into my big soft bed. Which will be quite comfy until about 1:00 a.m., which is usually when B decides she's had enough of her own bed and climbs into bed with us. You'd think with a king sized bed, there'd be plenty of room for 2 adults and one child, and technically, there is. Unfortunately, B's idea of a good night's sleep involves sharing my pillow, on MY side of the bed. This means that P gets half, and B and I share half. We two do not fit well on only half a bed. But I'm always too tired to fight about it. Sometimes I get fed up and actually carry her back to her own bed, but lately I've been so zoned that I can't be bothered.

Back to the washer and dryer that have been sitting out on our porch. Without a washer and dryer this past week, our laundry has been piling up like crazy. Believe it or not, I actually went to the store and bought three pairs of pants for B so I wouldn't have to go to the laundramat. That's so lame, I can't believe I even did it. Yet, I did.

Thanks to golfwidow for clueing me in to why I can't see any banners. It seems my Norton Firewall is the culprit. So, either I can see banners, or I open my computer up to all kinds of nasty hackers. Hard to decide. I really like seeing banners.

Well, I'm off to bed. First, I'm gonna pop some pills like a junkie, though. Tylenol PM. What would I do without it?


0 Comment(s)

last - next