navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Another one about puke
Friday, Sept. 26, 2003, 6:49 pm

Wow, two entries in one day. Haven�t done this in a while.

I finally got the seat warmer in my car fixed today. I wanted to make sure everything was working and in good order for the upcoming �cold� season. It was 80 degrees today. Weird.

B�s pre-school teacher called me this afternoon to let me know that B had thrown up all over the floor. Oh, and by the way, two other children had been sent home with the stomach flu earlier. But since she didn�t have a fever, I didn�t have to come pick her up right away. But she will get a fever. It�s part of it. And I did go pick her up right away. But before I could get there, she�d thrown up again, this time all down the front of herself, all over her cute little red Osh Kosh B�Gosh shortalls. It was a mess, and I had to change her clothes before we left the school.

Almost home, about a mile away, and she�s throwing up all over herself again. All over herself and her car seat, which now has to be dismantled and laundered and disinfected.

Got her home and cleaned up, and settled into a big pile of pillows on her bed, and she�s crying again that her tummy hurts, and we just make it to the bathroom sink in time. Half an hour later she�s at it again. I couldn�t imagine how she was still throwing up. There couldn�t be anything left in her stomach. But she was. How many times is that? Five? Five times in 1.5 hours.

So how long before P and I get sick too? I�m so bugged by this (no pun intended). Five months ago I bought a ticket to attend this seminar. It�s tomorrow, and what if I�m sick? I simply must go, sick or not. Should I take a bucket?

Oh, and P. He�s tried to be so helpful, offering to go to the grocery store while I retrieved B from the virus factory. He came home with fuzzy clear soda (7-Up, duh!) and some things for dinner. He started pulling out packages that were obviously from the meat department, all wrapped so neatly in their white paper. I asked, what is that? Did you buy something for me to cook tonight? Tell me you didn�t. Oh, no. It wasn�t for me to cook. He was going to cook it. Uh huh. Fresh mussels and sea scallops. He�s never cooked either before in his life, in fact, had no idea what to do with the mussels. And, I had to tell him frankly, if we are destined to catch this stomach flu bug (which one of us � if not both of us � will, guaranteed), then the absolute LAST thing I, personally, want on my stomach is seafood. And I couldn�t imagine drinking the really nice imported beers he got to go with it. But I did give him a quick tutorial in steaming mussels in white wine, and sauteing scallops in butter and garlic. And I said, if you want to eat seafood, go ahead, but I just can�t.

B�s now complaining of being hungry, and I keep putting her off because I�m tired of the puke. But she�s really complaining, so I let her have a small bottle of yogurt smoothie, which she gulped down. She does love yogurt, in any form. She immediately wanted another, but I wouldn�t give it to her. I told her we�d have to wait a while and see if the first one stays down. If it does, she can have another. At least it�s liquid. I keep checking her to see if she�s warm. She�s starting to feel a little warm to me now. It�s inevitable, I think.

So this is how the weekend is to be? I hope not. I hope it skips right over me (and P too, but that might be asking too much) considering how the two of them seem to always get sick together.

Well, the child is calling the daddy, the daddy is calling the mommy, and the mommy just sits here typing away. Better git.


0 Comment(s)

last - next