navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

We're going to the beach
Saturday, Aug. 30, 2003, 7:53 pm

We are definitely going to the beach tomorrow. We are going here. Looks nice to me. It was the only place I could find that still had a decent room available this weekend.

I have very fond memories of my parents packing up me and my brothers into the car and heading for the Oregon Coast. We'd always stay in a little motel on the beach, one that had an indoor swimming pool, and we'd just play all day, and swim, and we always ate at Lil' Sambo's. They had to change the name of the restaurant because it turns out it wasn't politically correct. It's something else now, but it'll always be Lil' Sambo's to me.

I hope B has the same kind of fond memories, though she's probably a bit young yet. But we've got to get started on them, right? Besides, I love the coast. There's no place like the Pacific Coast. All rocky and wild. The water is so cold, but it's also so clean and it smells like an ocean should smell. We were at Virginia Beach last summer, and the Atlantic Ocean had no smell. At least not the smell I am used to. Fishy, salty, sandy. That's the ocean smell I love.

I'm very much looking forward to this little overnight adventure. I'll bring back taffy for ya'll. (Hey, I think I'm turning southern!)


1 Comment(s)

last - next