navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Saturday night fever
Saturday, Feb. 22, 2003, 7:39 pm

Step throat, anyone?

P started getting sick on Wednesday afternoon, and by Thursday afternoon, he was bundled up in blankets on the couch downstairs, shivering, with a 101 degree fever and a red, raw throat. Couldn't get him in to see his doctor until Friday morning, but when he did get in, it took about 3 seconds for the doctor to diagnose him and declare him contagious.

The doc gave us both a prescription for antibiotics, assuming I would be next to get the dreaded illness, but so far I feel fine. I got the prescription filled though, just in case. At the first sign of soreness, I'm gulping those babies.

P was feeling much better by today. We even made preliminary plans to do a little home improvement project on B's bathroom. Ever since we bought this house, I've been wanting to replace the countertops with ceramic tile. Right now they are this beige colored kind of marblish blah stuff. You know, the non-offensive, inexpensive stuff they put in new houses when the homeowners-to-be don't get a say in it. Three bathrooms, one powder room, and the kitchen all have these kind of countertops. As a first project, I thought it would be nice to do the kids' bathroom in white ceramic tile, so we did a little research, made a few plans, and I think we might actually do it. If it turns out good, and it's not too hard, then we'll most likely do the kitchen next, and the rest of the house in turn.

In our bathroom, we want to do the tile, replace the gargantuan mirror on the wall with two classy oval mirrors (one over each sink) and replace the light fixtures. Could be years before we get to this room, but it's on the list.

Home improvement. It's what tax refunds were designed for.

Other than that, nothing too exciting going on here at Chez Whata. I did finally get my hair cut, so I am ever so stylish now. And the color integration gray removal procedure I had done is quite lovely. I have golden highlights now, instead of plumages of gray. I'm too young for gray hair, dammit!

Uh oh. The child is approaching. She's supposed to be banished to her bedroom for breaking the vase my valentine flowers came in. AFTER I took it away from her once, and she climbed up on a chair and got it again. Blatant insubordination. So, gotta go chase her back upstairs.

Saturday nights didn't always used to be this exciting.


0 Comment(s)

last - next