navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Christmas Day 2002
Thursday, Dec. 26, 2002, 7:26 am

Pressing on�

Our Christmas Eve story is right here. Or, most of it.

When P got back from taking K home, B was sound asleep. He and I brought the Jeep up from downstairs, along with all of B's presents from Santa, as well as our gifts to each other -- at least the one's we hadn't given to each other yet!

We were both ready to drop at that point, so we then went to bed. At 5:00 a.m. B came into our room and climbed into bed with us. Much groaning and disbelief. Cannot imagine having to get out of bed to open presents. Ugh. Fortunately, she fell back to sleep. I, however, did not.

No matter how little sleep I have received, once I am awakened anywhere near my regular getting up time, I can't go back to sleep. So I got up - it was about 5:30 a.m. - and covered the jeep in Christmas paper so B couldn't see it when she descended the stairs. A couple of bows on top. Took a lot of paper. Then I picked up the previous night's mess in the living room, getting it ready for the Christmas morning mess.

Just as I thought I might be able to lay down on the couch for a while and get a little nap in, I heard the pitter-pattering of little feet upstairs. It was 7:00 a.m. I don't know how he did it, as he is not a morning person at all, but P managed to get out of bed, get his contacts in, get dressed, and rush downstairs to grab the video camera to capture B coming down the stairs, seeing if Santa came or not. The sight of all the presents and especially the huge one amazed her. Before we knew it, she was tearing at the paper on the Jeep. "It's a fast red car! It's a fast red car! Thank you Santa! Thank you! Thank you!" P, of course, got it all on video.

We had to divert her away from the Jeep long enough to open her other presents, all of which met with squeals and smiles and excitement. It was precious to us. Her favorite non-Jeep gift was a little yellow umbrella. I knew it would be her favorite. She sees all the "big kids" carrying umbrellas, she sees me with my umbrella, and she has been wanting one of her own forever. So I knew it would be a big hit.

P and I opened our gifts after B was done with hers. Actually, B opened our gifts for us. P got a new travel mug and a new shirt. Small gifts to go with his amp, which he got earlier. I got a small bottle of my favorite fragrance, a book, and a hot milk steamer/frother so I can make my own latte's at home -- just like Starbucks! These gifts to go with this, which I received when P got his amp. We're so bad - we couldn't wait.

After cleaning up the living room again, I made scones for us, which were fabulous. We munched on scones, Christmas cookies, and candy all morning. By 11:00 a.m. I was ready to collapse, though. The previous couple of nights and early mornings had caught up to me. So when B went down for her nap, I took one too. But when we got up later that afternoon, I was still sapped, and that's when I decided to blow off making Christmas dinner.

P made a phone call, canceling our evening engagement, which was simply K's family - including grandparents, coming by to drop off more gifts and have coffee/whatever and cookies/whatever. He was feeling much the way I was, and having to entertain visitors just wasn't our idea of fun at that time, so he begged off for us. They were totally fine with it, and agreed we'd catch up with them later in the week.

So we had tomato soup and tuna fish sandwiches for Christmas dinner. It was great! Not a lot of dishes, or slaving in the kitchen. Just free time to relax and play with B's toys. And my own new toy! I have had many rich frothy chai and black tea latte's, which I have decided to call "cappu-tea-no's." (I don't do coffee). I am having one now, as a matter of fact.

So that's it, really. We had a really really nice Christmas. I can't think of a single thing (besides the dinner) that we didn't get to do -- nothing of importance, anyway. It was nice just hanging out at home and being together.

I plan to do the ham today. No pressure, though. The main thing is getting the food cooked and in the fridge. At least that way it will be available to us for snacking! It's all about the leftovers.


0 Comment(s)

last - next