navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

I love my strange, naked child.
Wednesday, Nov. 13, 2002, 11:29 am

Sometimes it�s easier in the mornings to have the car all packed and running (warmed up) before getting B out of bed. Then I just lift her out of her bed, wrap a blanket around her, take her out to the car, and strap her into her car seat. This doesn�t really give her time to fight with me. She�s still half asleep; too groggy to figure out what�s going on.

This means I have to pack a bag with her clothes and shoes and stuff, to change her into once we get to the daycare. Not a problem, really. Except this morning. Such a strange kid I have sometimes. She loves being in her jammies, so it�s a challenge to get her out of them. Once out, getting her back into clothes is tough too.

So this morning, I get her undressed � nekkid � and into the girl�s potty to do her morning pee-pee�ing. That done, I try to coax her into her panties and clothes. Nothing doing. I moved right, she moved left. I move left, she moved right. Dodging me the whole time. And don�t be fooled. Kids are slippery when they�re nekkid.

Fortunately, there wasn�t anyone else in the room at the time.

So anyway, I�m fighting with her, trying to get her clothes on. She�s doing everything she can to avoid it. No screaming or yelling (yet), but lots of negotiating and pleading. At one point � and this is why I say my kid is so strange sometimes � she makes it to her feet (still nekkid) and backs away from me so I can�t reach her. I�m begging at this point. Please let mama put your clothes on, honey. I'm very nearly exasperated. Very. Nearly. And then she says to me, �You want to make me a cake, Mama?�

Huh? Where did that come from?

And seriously. She stood there with this quizzical look on her face, like that was the most normal question in the world under the circumstances. Head tilted just slightly, eyes wide. Hands folded in front, so modestly covering her girl �body.� And I had to laugh. Couldn�t help myself. Laughed out loud. LOL!! And then she laughed, though I�m sure she had no idea why we were laughing. And then she ran over to me and threw her arms around my neck and gave me a big hug. And agreed to get dressed.

She gave me THREE big kisses as I was leaving this morning.

She�s a strange one, that kid. God, I love her.


0 Comment(s)

last - next