navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

My Fair Lady
Sunday, Sept. 08, 2002, 6:37 am

Today we are going to "do the Puyallup." Puyallup Fair, that is. I've lived in the Seattle area for 7.5 years now, and I've never been to the fair. Growing up, I went to the Oregon State Fair every summer -- multiple times every summer. But since I moved away from my home town, I've rarely been to a fair. So I convinced P that it would be fun (which took a lot of convincing), so we are going today.

I'm sure parking will be a nightmare, and of course B will miss her naptime, which is always a joy for all of us, but I am excited. I can already taste the swirl fries and scones and elephant ears and corn-on-the-cob and corndogs and and and !!! Hmmm, I think I might be hungry.

This will be B's first fair, too. And she's going to be wearing her first ever pair of jeans with a snap and zipper. Ah, she's growing up so fast. We're taking the dig camera, so if there are any especially good pics, maybe I'll post 'em here.

We're taking the stroller, of course, but I'm also taking the kiddie leash. It's a strappy halter thing that goes around B's shoulders and torso, with a strap in the back that connects to my wrist. I used it at the air show last summer, and I got a few disapproving glares from some folks. I wasn't bothered. Anyone who has a problem with a parent doing everything in their power to keep their child safe from predators can just bite me.

Oddly, or maybe not so oddly, I recall the disapproving glances coming from older-ish folks. Maybe this is because when their children were small, child abduction wasn't foremost on their minds, like it is ours. Maybe they liken strapping your child to your wrist to taking a dog for a walk. I don't know, and I don't really care what anybody else thinks. We live in different times. My parents probably wished they could put my brothers and I on leashes, but for a very different reason. :)

So that's the plan for today. Hoping the weather holds and it doesn't rain on us. But oh well if it does. My excitement will not be dampened!


0 Comment(s)

last - next