navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Poor sick baby
Wednesday, Feb. 27, 2002, 8:23 pm

B's got another ear infection. That poor kid. So another round of antibiotics and Motrin.

Lots of folks say a kid with an ear infection should just tough it out until it goes away. Too many antibiotics can be bad. Bacteria are, apparently, smart enough to mutate and become resistant to antibiotics. Hrm.

Not being a doctor, chemist, physicist, or whatever, I don't grasp this concept completely, but whatever. I don't disbelieve it. All I know is that if my baby's in pain, and there's medicine I can give her to make it stop, then I'm giving her the medicine. I've asked her doctor several times if he's concerned about over using antibiotics with her, and he tells me no. I trust him. I believe he really cares about my child.

But I see the looks from people when I tell them she's on antibiotics again. Folks I work with. Some friends. There's been so much hype about it, and it's become so controversial, just about everybody has an opinion. I know some people think I'm ignorant, or lazy, because I "allow" my child to take antibiotics. I just want to shout a big fat "screw you" to those people. You don't have to listen to my baby cry because her ear hurts. Or feel her hot skin because of the fever. Or look into her glassy eyes when she feels bad.

I give her medicine, and she feels better. Fast. That's what I care about.


0 Comment(s)

last - next