navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Thursday ramblings
Thursday, Jan. 31, 2002, 11:46 am

I�m sitting here in my office, looking around at the piles of paper everywhere, on and under every surface. It�s a disaster. The fire marshall should condemn this place and haul me away.

The most surprising thing is that I am a very organized person. So why does my office look like this? I have several theories. Number one is not really a theory � it�s a fact. My boss�s office is immaculate and neat. No piles anywhere. Why? Because he makes ME store everything in my office. So I have boxes and piles of stuff that came from his office. Number two is because I really can�t be bothered to file stuff. I mean, I file stuff I use and need, but if it�s just junk given to me because someone else doesn�t want it, well I can�t be bothered to do anything with it. So it just sits here. Number three is that I just have too much stuff, way too much. Too much responsibility, too many tasks, too much paperwork. And nobody to take on any of it if I should win the lottery, or die in a car crash. I don�t know if I find that troubling or amusing.

________________________________________

This morning, my daughter said the most coherent and complete sentence I have ever heard her say. We were driving down the road and she sneezed several times, so at the stoplight I reached back to wipe her nose. She squirmed away from me and said, �No, no, Mama.�

THEN, as I was pulling away from the light, she said, �Leave baby�s nose alone, Mama.�

I laughed and said, �Oh, okay! I will.� Later I wondered if I shouldn�t have reprimanded her for being so bossy, but I was too amused at the time to think of it.

______________________________________

We�ve been having some pretty frightful weather here in Seattle the past week or so. Rain, ice, SNOW, more rain. The roads have been hazardous, and the mix of salt and sand has made my already filthy car even more disgusting. I have to be really careful not to brush up against it when I�m getting in and out of it, to keep my clothes from getting all dirty. That�s one dirty car. And there�s not a lot of likelihood that I�m going to do anything about it anytime soon.

________________________________________

My husband just called a little while ago to inform me that he thinks he�s coming down with a cold. Oh, great. Now, I love P very much, and I enjoy his company and there�s really no one else I�d rather spend all my time with. But I have to say, when he gets a cold, I want to run for the hills, as I know this little cold is about to take over our lives for a few days. He acts like he�s on his deathbed. When he gets the sniffles, he develops a limp. Enough said?

________________________________________

I�m in the mood to list some of my deficiencies. I kind of want to get them out there so I can stare them down and make corrections where possible.

1. I do not always provide nutritious and balanced meals for my child. Last night I fed her Special K and Cheetos for dinner.

2. I have no desire to wipe the raspberry jelly off of the wall on the stairwell, nor the chocolate milk splashed on the pantry doors. I am a bad housekeeper.

3. Sometimes I call my husband in the middle of the day and tell him I am really hot for him at that particular moment. This makes him frustrated, and it�s a little bit amusing for me. I am a tease.

4. I do not give 100% to my job, nor do I give 100% to my family. But between the two of them, I feel like I give 150% of myself every day. This is not satisfying. Don�t I deserve at least 10% for myself?

5. I need a cut and color, but have neither the time nor the inclination to have it done. I�m one of those spur of the moment gals. When I decide I want my hair done, I want it done NOW. I hate making hair appointments that I have to keep. Usually, by the time the appointment rolls around, the urge to look good has passed.

Maybe I don�t look so flawed. My deficiencies seem pretty mild. Well, that�s just because I didn�t mention the really bad ones. Don�t want to ruin my image.

________________________________________

Guess that�s it for today. Phone keeps ringing and it�s almost lunchtime. And I�ve got to do something about these boxes I keep tripping over. Sure I will!


0 Comment(s)

last - next