navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

The day's agenda
Saturday, December 01, 2001, 5:01 am

What a day it's going to be. At 10 a.m. we're interviewing a potential babysitter. Our first outside-the-family babysitter. I'm very excited at the prospect of having a babysitter to come to our house so we can grab a bite to eat and a movie once in a while.

She's the daughter of a man I work with, so it's not like a real "interview." More like a first meeting. And if B likes her, and she's willing, we'll give her a test run next Saturday, which is P's birthday. It's also the day we've set aside to pick out our Christmas tree and do a little shopping. Oh, and we're going to try to squeeze in a birthday dinner too. All that from 3 to 7 pm. Should be interesting!

After the babysitter interview, we've got some shopping to do. Groceries, new shoes for B, mundane household stuff mostly. Then at 4 pm, P's exwife is bringing her 2 kids (P's daughter K and her brother KC) to spend the night with us because they have a Christmas party to go to tonight. We have a reciprocal childcare arrangement with them that works really well. Especially for overnight occasions. But this means that the afternoon/evening will be anything but quiet. These are the LOUDEST children in the world. Throw B into the mix, who tries to match their volumes when they're here, and you have a recipe for a gigantic headache. Better stock up on Advil while I'm at the grocery store.

Actually, it's fortuitous that the kids are coming over today. I've been wondering what to give them (the parents) for Christmas, and I decided this morning that I would take their pictures and frame them. They don't get portraits done very often (a year ago was the last time KC had his picture taken!), so I know this is something they'll appreciate. And since we've got this fabulous Sony digital camera that P just got new lenses and filters for, I know that we can manipulate the lighting and backdrops in our house to turn out some pretty decent portraits of the kids.

That's the plan for today. Tomorrow K is in a play at her church, which we've been invited to, but I doubt I'll go. B doesn't sit still for very long these days, and I just hate church functions. And this church is particularly "evangelical" which means everybody there is out to convert you. I don't need conversion, thank you.

But P will go, as he should. I should, too. But I don't want to. I already told N (P's exwife) that I wasn't sure I would make it. She's so cool. She just laughs and says that's fine! Come if I can, but don't worry about it if I don't want to. She's very good about letting us know which events are absolutely critical and important to K, and which aren't so much, so I can plan to attend the really important ones. P, of course, attends everything.

I love our relationship with P's exwife and her family. We're so very lucky. She's one of our best friends. Truly. It's strange, but true. I've never met a nicer person. And B LOVES her and her husband. When she stays over there, she doesn't want to come home! It's wonderful.

Gotta go tidy up the house. I can't have people I work with seeing my slob-side, can I? I have an image to maintain, afterall...

Caio!


0 Comment(s)

last - next