navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Safe children, missing parents
Wednesday, Sept. 12, 2001, 7:29 am

The operators of the daycare we take B to sent a letter home to parents yesterday. This daycare operator is a huge company that runs daycare centers all over the country. It's called Bright Horizons, and it operates the Boeing Family Center, and it is fabulous.

The chief director of BH sent a letter to us yesterday that talked about the daycare centers located in the World Trade Center. There were two.

The letter said that the staff of the daycare centers were able to get all of the children out safely, with no injuries. No children in the daycare centers were hurt! I hadn't even thought about the possibility of there being children in those buildings. But after I read the letter, I found myself filled with gratitude that this person, a high up in a company I know exists but rarely acknowledge, took the time to let us, the parents of children, know that in the midst of all of yesterday's horror, no children in the daycare centers located in those buildings were hurt. The children were safe.

My relief turned to anguish when I realized that yes, the children are safe. Thank God the children are safe. But how many of them are without parents now? That thought buckled me, like the towers themselves buckled. Children had their parents ripped away from them yesterday. Families were destroyed. Lives were changed forever. And for what? FOR WHAT????


0 Comment(s)

last - next