navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Baby no more
2001-08-09,

Imagine waking up in the morning and NOT getting that first cup of coffee or tea, or whatever. Would kind of ruin your day, wouldn't it? At the very least, it would cause a rough start.

This past Monday I decided B should give up her morning bottle. Only because she's 17 months old now, and at her 18 month check up, I know her doctor is going to ask me about it. So I'm being proactive.

My bible is a big thick monstrous book by the American Academy of Pediatrics. I figure these folks generally know what they're talking about. But they say babies should be weaned from the bottle at 12 months. To that I say bah. No way was B ready at 12 months. She wasn't ready at 15 months, as I told her doctor. But now, at 17 months, I think she's ready. So we went cold turkey on Monday.

That first day was extremely difficult. She didn't understand my motivation. She only knew that every other morning of her ENTIRE life, Mommy has greeted her with a smile, a kiss, and a warm bottle of milk. But not this day. Did she scream and cry? Oh, yeah. Until we went downstairs, where I gave her a CUP of milk, a cereal bar, and some banana. She quieted down right away.

The second day was much the same, but by the third day, I noticed a difference. Not so much fussing. I'd call it resignation. But by the time we got downstairs, she was eagerly anticipating her new morning ritual.

Today, Day 4, was a breeze. She didn't cry or fuss much at all. In fact, she was downright cheerful. I think the worst may be over.

She really is a toddler now, isn't she? She doesn't drink from a bottle anymore. The last vestige of her babyness is gone. Damn, I might cry.


0 Comment(s)

last - next