navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

The Refrigerator
2001-07-22, 7:59 a.m.

Weekends should be relaxing. Too often they're not, though. Our schedules (mine and P's) during the work week don't allow us the time to do household chores. So we get to spend our weekends catching up on laundry, floor cleaning, and toilet scrubbing.

Yesterday morning, bright and early (B woke up at 5:30 a.m.), I cleaned out the frigerator. Believe me, it needed it. I was both amazed and disgusted by what had accumulated in there.

It all started last weekend after I went grocery shopping. I couldn't find room in the refrigerator to put everything. I had to stack things on top of each other. To open it and look inside, you'd think we were ready to prepare a feast for 25 guests. Yet, come Friday, we had nothing to eat. Couldn't find one consumable thing. That's when I decided it was time to clean out the frig.

In short, I ended up throwing out everything I could not remember purchasing. I figured, if I couldn't remember buying it, it must be pretty old. I found several expired yogurts, a couple of almost-empty jars of jam, a package of lunch meat long since edible, and three jars of pickles. I had to ask myself why we had pickles in our refrigerator. Obviously, I mean OBVIOUSLY, we don't eat pickles. Why do I keep buying them? What made me think at one time that we needed pickles? Or needed MORE pickles? Insanity.

The entire door on the inside was filled with little bottles of "stuff" for making specicialized dishes. Teriyaki sauces, gourmet this and that sauces, FISH sauce (which I don't remember buying), and an assortment of other things. Now, in all fairness to me, I know why we have those. I have tried, in the past, to find a gourmet sauce that we like as well as Yoshida's Gourmet Sauce. Sometimes the stores are out of Yoshida's. Some stores don't carry it. But it is absolutely the best sauce. So I've tried everything on the market in the hope of finding something comparable. I threw out every single bottle of that other stuff. It's all crap.

After filling two garbage bags and all of my recycling bins, my refrigerator was pretty empty. Except for beer. There are five different kinds of beer represented in my refrigerator right now. Just a few of each, but enough to have a small party with. I guess P wants to be prepared for the tastes of anyone who might stop by. What a good host.

Of course, I took the entire insides of the frig apart and scrubbed everything, so now our almost new refrigerator looks new again. I even went grocery shopping last night and filled it back up. But this time, I filled it with things we might actually eat.

This morning when I opened the refrigerator to pour B some milk, the inside gleamed and shined at me, and all the fresh, edible food in there made me happy. So while I could say my Saturday was wasted on mundane household chores, it was definitely worthwhile. Because today I'm feeling pretty good about it, and thinking about blowing off the laundry in favor of relaxing and playing with B.

Sounds like a good way to spend Sunday to me.


0 Comment(s)

last - next