navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Granddaughter of the Chief
2001-06-24, 7:05 a.m.

I've been researching my geneology a little lately. It's been very interesting. It appears I am directly descended from two Cherokee Indian chiefs. Chief Amatoya Moytoy is as far back as I'm able to go. He was born around 1620. His son, Chief Kanagatoga, was born about 1650. He is also known as Old Hop Hopper. And it goes from there. It's actually very easy to track, since many other people have already done the research work, and it's all out there on the web. If it had been only one site and one set of research, I might be skeptical, but I've seen the lineage on many sites, by many researchers. And I know who my grandparents were, and my great grandparents, and their surnames and maiden names and all that, so it's pretty convincing.

My family on my mother's side all live in Oklahoma, and the story has always been that some distant grandmother of mine died on the Trail of Tears. I haven't figured out which one yet, but I'm currently reading the Trail of Tears, and I hope to figure out which one it was.

I am 1/52 Cherokee, according to the official papers I received from Cherokee Nations about 8 years ago, when I was admitted to the Tribe. Apparently, my generation and Cherokee blood content amount were the very last to be admitted. My daughter won't be a member of the Tribe. That's too bad. I think it's kind of cool to belong to a special group.

Everybody looks at me kind of funny when I tell them I'm a member of the Cherokee Tribe. Maybe it's because I'm one of those really pale white folks, and did not inherit the coloring or features of my ancestors, like my aunts did. Most people I tell don't seem to believe me.

That's okay. I've got a membership card. And I know I'm descended from greatness. I may not look like it, but I'm a warrior's great (x 7) granddaughter. Don't mess with me! :)


2 Comment(s)

last - next