navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Hi, it's me.
2001-04-20, 2:33 p.m.

Here it is: My First Post. Hard to know where to start, so I guess I'll just start with today. It's Friday, which is always good, but it's still a few hours before quittin' time, so instead of working (like I should be doing) I'll tell you about how cute B was this morning when I dropped her off at daycare. My daughter is by far the most adorable child ever born. Now, I'm not just saying that. I know, I know. All babies are beautiful. Blah blah blah. But everybody knows that's not entirely true. In B's case, though, it is absolutely true. She's the cutest thing I've ever seen.

So every morning I wake her up at 5:45, and carry her down the stairs. With eyes only half open, she reaches out her hands to grasp the bottle of warm milk that's always waiting for her, and plugs it into her mouth. She loves her morning bottle. And then I dress her in something adorable, yet suitable for daycare, load her up into the car, and off we go. I am fortunate in that she loves her daycare teacher. As soon as she sees her, she practically leaps out of my arms into her's. Does my heart good to see this. Think about it -- how much worse it would be if she were miserable. That'd break my heart. We're both so lucky.

She's just learned to walk, right? And she's pretty good at it, but a little unsteady. Well, we got to the daycare, and out in the middle of the "concourse" (there's an airport theme) are these little climbing blocks and ramps and slides and really cool fun stuff for little tykes. She made a beeline straight for the slide, and walks up the ramp (with no hands, I might add), sits down, and slides off. I was amazed. And afterward, when I'd kissed her goodbye, and gotten into my car to complete my morning commute, I felt this incredible sadness because I realized my baby wasn't a baby anymore. Suddenly, overnight, my baby had become a toddler.

I'll have to explain later why that is so significant to me right now.


0 Comment(s)

last - next