navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Almost as good as Merry Maids
Sunday, Aug. 01, 2004, 10:33 am

P and I can look at the same thing, the same situation, and see remarkably different things.

Most recently, this morning actually, I came down the stairs to a living room strewn with toys and other things that don�t belong there, including someone�s leftover snack which sat on the floor next to a pile of blankets in front of the TV. I thought, �Ugh, what a mess.� My eyes tracked on clutter everywhere, though it was better this morning than it was the day before, because I dug though some of it yesterday.

I did notice, however, that the kitchen was tidy. The dishwasher had been unloaded, and the sink was clear of dishes too. P�s coffeemaker was full and ready to brew. Nice, I thought.

Fast-forward a few hours. I snuck upstairs to see if P was awake yet, and he had just started stirring. He finally awoke after I sat on the bed staring at him for 5 minutes, willing him to wake up. We chatted for a moment, and he said, �Did you see it? Did you notice?� I thought and thought, and said, �See what?� He said, �The house! I cleaned it!�

Dumbstruck as I was, I knew better than to say what I was thinking, which was, �Huh?� So instead I said, �I noticed you emptied the dishwasher and made your own coffee � that was nice to wake up to!� He said, �I thought you�d like that. I made it so you could do other things besides clean the house today.�

Um, yeah.

I guess to him emptying the dishwasher and wiping down the countertops constitutes cleaning the house. And besides that, he cleans the kitchen every night so it wasn�t even out of the ordinary.

I�m thinking I woke him from a dream in which he did, in fact, clean the house. Perhaps he was confusing reality with fantasy for a moment there. At any rate, I did appreciate his enthusiasm and was grateful for a tidy kitchen and ready-to-go coffee first thing. I just wish I could get him to set his sights a little higher � perhaps broaden them a little.


0 Comment(s)

last - next