navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

The end is in sight!
Sunday, Mar. 28, 2004, 5:48 am

We�re on baby watch again! P�s exwife started leaking amniotic fluid on Friday afternoon, so we could get a call anytime. They live 30 minutes from the hospital (we are 5 minutes away), and she has a history of fast labor, fast deliveries. Both of the kids� bags are packed, and at the first twinges of real labor, they�re jumping in the car. I�ve agreed to meet them at the hospital and bring the two kids home with me to await the arrival of their new baby brother. That is, unless his birth seems imminent, in which case, we�ll wait at the hospital. I don�t know what arrangements they�ve made in the event she doesn�t go into labor over the weekend. Both P and I have to go to work tomorrow�

Slowly, but surely, I�m getting this house back together. Living room and dining room are done, as of about five o�clock yesterday. Furniture has been returned to its proper place (for the most part). This morning I�m planning to re-hang pictures, set out knick-knacks once again, and P is going to put books back on the bookshelves. I need to shop for a new lamp, and new shades for the two we already have. The old one�s fell victim to some interesting 4-year-old artwork during the construction phase.

It�s very nice in here now. This house was a generic blast of white when we bought it. The architecture is rather modern, with rooms that flow into one another with no real breaks. The ceiling in the living room is high, about 18� vaulted with a skylight waaaay up there, which has collected its share of dust and cobwebs, but for which I have nothing long enough to reach it to clean. The windows and the fireplace had no character. No mantle (I took care of that a few years ago), no sashes. That may be my next project, the windows. The floor was covered in white vinyl, light beige � almost off white carpet. It was a sea of white. Not anymore.

The floors are a beautiful light cherry, and the walls are now a soft wheat color everywhere but the kitchen, which is a light sage (it�s amazing how well that color works with the cherry floor). The only white is the fireplace mantle, surround, and baseboard moulding, which turned out very nice. But what a project! Had to lay that stuff not once but twice, as we added a quarter-round edge along the bottom of it. Then the nail setting, the filling, the caulking, and finally, yesterday, the painting. A lot of work to squeeze into one�s �spare time,� but now that I see the finished product, I�m starting to believe it�s been worth it.

But I�m still not done. I�ve got a small amount to finish up in the kitchen, and the laundry room/powder room yet to do. Each of those will take me a couple of days to finish. A couple of days with my appliances pulled out and not available. A couple of days with no door to the powder room and probably the toilet out on the front porch again. Our neighbors love that.

One of these days, I�m going to gut the kitchen. I�ve got big dreams for that kitchen, but big dreams take big bucks, so it�s gonna be a while. I also have big dreams for the staircase. Ditto on the big bucks.

In the meantime, I�ll hang my pictures, get new lampshades, and call it good.


0 Comment(s)

last - next