navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Happy Valentine's Day
Sunday, Feb. 15, 2004, 5:00 am

Big relief. The doctor finally called back on Friday late afternoon (after I pitched a fit to one of his office staff). The scan showed nothing unusual. No cyst, tumor or any other scary thing that might be causing the swelling in B�s little neck. He said it has to be the lymphnode swelling, but he�s at a loss as to why. But the good news is there�s no need for surgery or any type of intervention right now. He wants us to monitor it for a month and then bring her back in. Meanwhile, he�s going to post her case to an internet message board he belongs to for ENT�s and see if anyone else has encountered this kind of thing before. But he didn�t seem overly concerned. She�s growing, active and eating well, so there�s no need for us to be worried about something terrible going on. So I agreed to watch her closely and report back in a month from now.

After what we went through on Wednesday with the needles and IV�s and anxiety, I�m more than relieved that my daughter won�t be enduring anything like it again. Surgery would have meant a repeat of all that nasty stuff. For me, I still feel a level of concern, because something is causing the swelling, but the absence of anything obvious does allay my fears considerably. Maybe it�s just a �thing� she�ll outgrow. That would be okay with me.

So, yesterday was Valentine�s Day. Not an extremely huge event at Casa Whata, but we did venture out for a really nice dinner at one of our favorite restaurants. We had calamari and a drink in the bar while waiting for our table, a nice dinner and another drink in the restaurant, and we ordered dessert (!), which we didn�t eat there, but, rather, is waiting for me in the refrigerator. Unless P ate it last night after I went to bed. I haven�t looked yet. For his sake, he better have left a few bites for me if he did!

After dinner, we stopped by H0me Dep0t and picked up a few things, the most significant of which was a new compound miter saw for me. My old saw just wasn�t cutting it anymore. Ha! Get it? Cutting it? Ahem.

Anyway, my old saw has a problem maintaining its settings. At one end of its miter, say 45 or 47, I can set the blade angle to exactly 90. Then to swing it over to make the opposite miter cut at 45, the blade angle should not change, at all, but it does. I have been finding myself re-setting it after every cut. Very frustrating. And time wasting. And board wasting! After many hours of adjusting and cutting and experimenting, I concluded the saw is just defective. And I think it�s been this way since I bought it a few years ago. But I haven�t done a project this big until now, so it wasn�t obvious. It became excruciatingly obvious as I was trying to cut small pieces of moulding for my hallway.

So I got a new saw. Bigger blade (12� vs 10�) and laser guided! I�m very excited. Happy Valentine�s Day to me!

And all I got P was Pink Fl0yd�s Live at P0mpei DVD. But I did score big points with it! The oldest and most well used VHS tape he owns is a bootleg copy of this concert. When he read in R0lling St0ne that they had re-mastered it and released it on DVD, he was very excited. (This was a December copy of the magazine that he was reading in the waiting room at the hospital on Wednesday). So I took a mental note, ran out to B0rders the next day, and snatched up the only copy they had left. Go me!

Plans for today: just a lot of cutting, nailing and caulking. Tomorrow: more of the same. It�s starting to take shape�it really is. There�s just a lot of it to do. My new saw will make it MUCH easier and faster from here on out, though. I can�t wait to get started.


1 Comment(s)

last - next