navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

The Good Saturday
Saturday, Dec. 20, 2003, 9:15 pm

Spent all day today in my pajamas, puttering around the house. Got both kids hanging out, one of them tying up my computer all day, the other getting into things, getting into trouble, and basically driving me crazy. That one would be B, of course.

At about 4:30 I put meatballs in the oven, as I had announced earlier in the day that we would be having spaghetti and meatballs for dinner. Cheers all around. So I had to follow through, though by that late in the afternoon, all I really wanted to do was order a pizza.

But I made the meatballs. Got 'em done, cooled off (to set them, see) and into a big pot with the sauce (jarred sauce, as I had no Italian mama to teach me how to make homemade sauce). The sauce was simmering away at 6:30 when P got a call from his buddy A. Seems A and his wife (a good friend of mine) were going to be in the neighborhood and wanted to come by and see our new floor. Oh, and they'll be here in about an hour.

Yikes! First of all, before I let anybody see my floor, and specifically if they're coming to actually SEE the FLOOR, I want it to be clean. Which meant a quick sweep and a once over with my Swiff4r wet thingy. Oh, how I love that wet thingy. So floor is all shiny and pretty, but as for me? Well, no time to do much about that except for actually putting on underwear and some clothes. They called from the Starb4cks down the street and asked if I wanted anything before they came over, and I said YES! Please bring me a grande non-fat no water chai, which they did! And which I quite enjoyed.

And it was so very good to see them both. They ooh'd and ahhh'd over our floor, and we sat and talked and laughed for quite a while, and then P announced he was starving...when would the spaghetti and meatballs be ready? And would there be enough for our friends to have dinner with us? I honestly didn't know if there would, but I said, sure! So I boiled the spaghetti, baked some bread from the freezer, and served up a cozy dinner for six on the fly. I amaze even myself, sometimes. We all sat around our little breakfast table on chairs scrounged from around the house (no furniture still, remember?) elbow to elbow, slurping up spaghetti, eating crunchy bread, and just enjoying the company of other adults (with the two children present, of course).

And there was enough for everybody to have 4 or 5 meatballs, though we ran a little low on sauce, but nobody seemed to mind. We were all full, and really glad to be together.

It was a rare occurrence these days, to have visitors just drop by suddenly, and be totally unprepared, but not worrying about it. It is, actually, one of my worst nightmares, being the controlling planner that I am, but I rolled with it, and it was fun!

K asked, "What's for dessert?" and I simply said, "M&M's. It's all we've got!" And everybody laughed, and then laughed again when P actually served everybody a little cup of M&M's later as we were sitting around chatting.

The only thing that would have made it better is if we'd been able to crack open a bottle of Merlot, like in the old days. The pre-kid days, when nobody worried about being clear-headed enough to save a small child from a burning house in the middle of the night, or how one would feel the next morning. But it was fine without the wine, and we had a good time.

And my Christmas shopping is all done. Even the stocking stuffers. P is not done, which means he'll be facing the crowds at least one more time. I plan to do a significant grocery shopping trip tomorrow, and that's it for me. No more venturing out into the world of commerce this year.

We are on 24 hour baby watch these days too. My niece is at 38 and a half weeks, which means she could go into labor at any time. I have instructed P to actually answer our home phone when it rings, especially in the middle of the night, which we do not usually do. At least not during the day. We do not answer our home phone. We let our robot pick it up, see who it is, and then decide if we want to answer it. We are now officially in "answer all calls" mode.

And when the call comes, I must be ready to go. It's a good 3.5 hour drive -- 4 hours if there's traffic -- and I get to be in the delivery room. If I make it! So tomorrow I'm packing a bag to be ready. I will see that child born, I will!

Time to hit the sack. It's been a good day.


0 Comment(s)

last - next