navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Is it only Wednesday?
Wednesday, Sept. 03, 2003, 6:54 pm

I just heard it's 91 degrees. Hey, Climate. It's September. Whatsamatta you?

I can't take much more of this heat. It's been like 4 months with little to no rain. All the flowers in my planters have perished. Mostly because I just gave up on them. Too much effort to keep 'em watered, with no help from Mother Nature at all. On Friday I will pull all the dead plants and store the planters away for Winter.

All the landscaping is dry and fragile, even though the sprinklers come on every night. It's still green, but it wouldn't take much to ignite the whole lot. The leaves on the trees look wilted and droopy. Everything needs a good long drink of water. I wish it would rain.

We found out my niece is having a baby girl. There's a mercy. I figured, with the way her luck was going, she'd have a boy for sure. Now, at least, she won't ever have to worry about the baby having clothes to wear and toys to play with. And I won't ever have to wonder what to do with B's hand-me-downs. As it is, that baby is going to have more stuff that my niece will know what to do with. I am the Queen of Organization when it comes to my kid's stuff. Even before B was born, everything has always been neatly organized, hung on hangers in the closet, folded in drawers. Now, it's packed neatly away in tubs. If I am the Queen of Baby Organization, my niece is the Court Jester. I'm afraid she's going to be overwhelmed by all of it. I've promised to get her an armoire for the baby as a Christmas present. At least she'll have a place to put some of it.

P's ex-wife just stopped by with P's daughter K, to show off K's new haircut (really cute), and to shoot the breeze for a few minutes. She found out a few weeks ago (while on vacation in Texas!) that she's pregnant. And she's siiiiiiiick. So so sick. Poor gal. She's only about 8 weeks, so she's got quite a bit more of it coming, too. She's always been sick well into her 6th month. I feel sorry for her. Me, I wasn't sick a day when I was pregnant. I sailed through it looking and feeling great. Seeing N today made me realize how lucky I was.

Oh, I just heard! It may rain on Sunday! Wouldn't you know it? That's the day we've got tickets to the waterpark for B*o*e*i*n*g family day. Half-priced tickets, free parking, free lunch, and the run of the park all day long. And now it's going to rain? How ironic is that?

Did I mention that it's hot? Didn't feel like cooking tonight, so we had pastrami and coleslaw sandwiches. Very good. Very easy. No dishes.

Now I'm eating white cheddar popcorn and I can't stop. Somebody, please take it away!

One more day at work this week and it's the weekend again. It can't come soon enough.


2 Comment(s)

last - next