navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Fevers, glands, and cars.
Saturday, Aug. 16, 2003, 9:51 am

The past week has been weird. So much happening, so much busy-ness, yet I felt like I was running in place a lot of the time.

Tuesday night: swimming lessons. We got to the pool, and B started feeling warm to me. Kind of feverish. After being in the pool for 15 minutes, I could tell that she was very uncomfortable in the cool water, as she was shivvering and her little lips were turning blue. So we left early. At home I took her temperature and it was 101. Nothing else, no other symptoms, just a slight fever. Gave her Tylenol, which helped for about 4 hours, but in the middle of the night the fever returned.

Wednesday: I had to go to work. No way around it. P couldn�t stay home with B, because of the amount of work time he has missed since his mom died. But I couldn�t take her to daycare, either. Not with a fever. So I took her into the office with me, so I could get the bare minimum done. Put in a few hours, then took her home. Of course, there was a lot of work I should have done, but I just left it. We got home, and B slept for 3 hours. A good long nap. She woke up feeling great. No fever, no other symptoms. Nothing. I figured it was just a �thing.�

Thursday: took B to daycare, and I went to work. Worked a full day. Put in 9 hours, in fact. Swimming lessons again, so we went, and everything was fine. B had a good lesson, felt great. About 2:30 in the morning, she crawled into bed wih us, and I could feel the heat radiating off of her little body. Fever again.

Friday: faced with the same situation as Wednesday. I have no backup at work right now, as the only person trained to do my job in my absence has just left for Reno to get married. So B went to the office with me again. I�m sure I raised a few eyebrows, since that was the 2nd time this week I had to bring her in with me. But my co-workers are great, many of them taking turns keeping her entertained while I scrambled to get as much done as possible in as short a time as possible. At one point I got a call from one of our senior salespeople saying B was there in her office. She�s cute, having fun, and by the way, she just ordered 100,000 pounds of pollock. We�ll need your Visa card number. Um, yeah. Let me just come and retrieve her right now before she orders a container of king crab legs too. All the while, B�s fever has subsided and she seems to be feeling fine again, though has started to complain about something stuck in her neck.

Friday evening: still no fever, but her little throat glands have become swollen enough to see them sticking out of her neck. Ouch, poor thing. And she now knows that her throat definitely hurts. Nose is stuffy, coughing has started. I sense a bad cold setting in. Again, in the middle of the night, she comes into our bed and she�s burning up. Temperature is 103.

Saturday morning: call doctor�s office to make an appointment. I�m sure it�s strep throat. Though why her fever hasn�t been constant, I don�t know. So we have an 11:30 a.m. appointment. I expect antibiotics, which means she�ll be fine for daycare by Monday morning.

I wish I�d just taken her in on Wednesday, then we�d be through it by now. But no, I didn�t see the symptoms, didn�t understand what she meant by �something in my neck,� that it meant her throat was sore. I sensed a cold, which is no big deal. Very every-day in children, in fact. But the fever. I should have wondered about that. Fevers don�t pop up for no reason, though sometimes it seems like there�s no reason.

Oh, and I got my car back from the dealership on Monday. Runs like a top, which it should, since it has a brand new engine in it. Only cost me $5,800 this time, which I charged to my Mastercard, which didn�t go through when the cashier tried to process it, which sent me into a mini-panic. Turns out I have a $5,000 transaction limit, so she just needed to divide it into two amounts. As soon as our home equity line of credit check comes, I�m paying that sucker off. At least the interest we pay will be tax deductible. Bright side, silver lining, etc. etc.

I guess today will be spent at home, tending to my sick child, feeding her antibiotics, tylenol, and orange juice. Maybe feed myself and P too, if pressured to do so. P is in the process of buying a new car himself, which means we have to go through the pain and agony of getting his old car ready to sell, advertising it, waiting for someone to make an offer. I learned a lesson from the last car we sold. I�m not breaking my back cleaning this car up. No, sir. I already told P we�re spending the $200 it will cost to have it detailed by a professional. Have you ever tried to detail your car yourself? A total pain in the keister, it is. And, frankly, I don�t think it�s worth it. The �sweat equity� thing. Bah. Overrated. Let me pay someone to do it. It�s their job, they�re good at it.

Can you tell I�m sick to death of dealing with cars and their issues? P called me on the phone from the lady�s house last night saying she wouldn�t take his offer, counter-offered $300 more. What to do? I said, just buy it. She�s firm on this, right? Let�s just get this OVER WITH. I hate cars.

So that�s it for now. Wow, looking back over what I just wrote, I think it makes me sound kind of grumpy. But I really don�t feel grumpy, per se. Just a little worn out. I�m tired of eventfulness. I�d like some uneventfulness for a while.


0 Comment(s)

last - next