navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Summer breeze makes me feel fine
Thursday, Jul. 18, 2002, 10:32 am

I usually get home from work about 1:45 pm, spend a few hours doing whatever I want � which may or may not include cleaning various areas in my house � then pick up B from daycare, piddle around the house some more, cook dinner, occupy B in anyway I can, and wait for P to come home. Doesn�t sound like too bad a deal, does it?

WELL. This week I decided that summer time is too short to spend it indoors cleaning my house. The laundry can wait! We can get takeout more often � I don�t need to cook every night. So each afternoon this week I have picked up B from daycare and we have gone to the beach to go swimming.

It is a glorious way to spend a hot summer afternoon. And I do not feel a bit guilty about not cleaning my house, or not doing the laundry, or not keeping the cupboards fully stocked with groceries. Like I told P last night, I have fall, winter, and spring to clean house. Summer is for playing with my daughter whenever I can, and he agreed! He may even skip out of work one of these afternoons and go with us.

So, today we will � as we did yesterday and the day before � go to the beach in the afternoon. We will don our swimsuits, spread out our beach towels, slather on sunscreen, and then head for the water. B has a great floatie that has a little seat in it that allows her to dangle in the water � fully immersed � safely, which she loves, and which also allows me to go all the way in the water, even the deep water, without worrying about her. It�s great.

There�s a concession stand there, where we will buy potato chips and cold water. And when we�ve had enough sun and water, we�ll make the 5-minute drive home. Dinner tonight will be spaghetti made with the frozen leftover sauce from the last time I made spaghetti. Easy!

With my new attitude, this summer may end up being the best one I�ve ever had.


0 Comment(s)

last - next