navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Anticipating Supper
2001-05-19, 7:46 p.m.

It's Saturday evening. P left yesterday for his conference in Texas. He called me from his 8th floor hotel room, as he was looking out over the pool, watching people frolicking in the 80 degree temperatures. It's cloudy, windy, and nippy here. I wish I could have gone with him. But vacation days are hard to come by when I have to use them for sick baby days. I have to be extremely selective. Still, that could be ME at the pool, relaxing with a fruity beverage. Ah, well. Next year's conference is in Virginia Beach and I WILL be there.

On a positive note, I just gave B her bath and tucked her into bed. She's a handful for one person. 14 months of pure energy. I need to start working out so I can keep up with her.

Also on a positive note, I am very excited right now, as I expect my dinner to arrive in about half an hour. Of course, there's nothing in my kitchen I feel like eating, so I pulled out my handy area restaurant delivery book, and soon I will be eating Tony Roma's baby back ribs with coleslaw, grilled vegetables, and onion rings. Isn't that neat? For a $6.00 fee, this delivery service will bring to my door whatever my heart desires from select restaurants in the area. Their booklet comes with complete menus from many very excellent restaurants. I had a hard time deciding. But you can't beat Tony Roma's for good old fashioned comfort food.

Whenever P leaves town, for some reason I get this powerful urge to go shopping. I don't know what it is. Every weekend he practically begs me to go shopping and do things to pamper myself. But I seldom do. I'm not a big shopper. What I *am* is a power shopper. When I go, I like to make a day of it and buy a lot of stuff. I was in that kind of mood today. But it is absolutely impossible with a toddler in tow. I can't try on anything, and in fact, I don't even end up looking at stuff for me. I always end up in the children's sections, or the men's sections, or the tools, or housewares, or whatever. I can't get into shopping for myself, because it takes concentration. I can't concentrate when I'm constantly worried about what B is doing, or how she is feeling. And I always feel hurried. So today I bought 2 pairs of pajamas for her, a couple of floral decorated storage boxes, and some other do-dads from Ikea that I can't recall. That place is great for do-dads. But no new shoes or blouses or skirts or pants for me. And I desperately need to get my hair foiled, but that is out of the question. That will have to wait until P gets back, but I know I won't feel like it then.

I realize there's not a lot of content to this entry tonight. Just a lot of babbling about silly stuff. I think it's because I'm tired. And hungry. And I miss P. It's going to be a very long week.

With that, I'm going to go upstairs, pour myself a glass of cheap wine, and wait for my dinner to arrive. Pleasant evening!


0 Comment(s)

last - next