navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Miscellany
2001-05-04, 12:59 p.m.

I made chocolate covered strawberries last night, and I'm eating them for lunch today. They're fabulous. I wish I had about 10 more.

My office smells like flowers. That's because of the beautiful bouquet of roses and lilies my husband sent me yesterday for our anniversary. This is only the 2nd time he's ever *sent* me flowers. He's given me flowers before, but there's nothing quite like having them delivered to you at work in front of all your co-workers. He was feeling quite proud of himself last night, knowing he'd scored a lot of points with that one. So I, feeling guilty that I hadn't done anything special for him, made chocolate covered strawberries. Which he loved. But which I ate the most of. Naturally.

This weekend is K-free. (K being P's daughter from his first marriage). That means B will be demanding attention from us, her parents. When K is around, B is entertained. She has someone who pays attention to her CONSTANTLY, unlike Mommy and Daddy, who always have something else going on in the background, like laundry and other household chores. Undivided attention - she loves it. And K gives it to her. She loves her baby sister. The two of them are very tight. It's really adorable.

But this weekend it's just the three of us. Which is nice too. It's certainly quieter. K is a loud child. Loud. Very very loud. Her dad isn't loud, per se, but he is gregarious, which is louder than reserved - the side I lean toward. Egads, I hope B takes after me in this regard. I can't handle too much volume.

P is leaving on a business trip the third weekend of this month. My dad wants to come up that weekend and catch a Mariner's game at Safeco Field. Great idea! But guess what? They're the hottest team in baseball this year, and they're playing the Yankees that day. What are the chances that we'll get tickets? Slim, I'd say. So he (my dad) says we'll just go and stand out in front of the stadium, and hopefully pick up some scalped tickets. Um, you go ahead, Dad. I'd rather watch it on TV. The good news is that my younger brother will be with him, so he'll have someone to go scalp hunting with. And my brother is the rich relative. He'll pay whatever he has to pay to get the tickets. He's a scalper's dream come true. Not me. I'm too cheap. I had the chance to buy Eric Clapton tickets yesterday for $75. And I PASSED because it was *per ticket* and not for a pair. How's that for cheap? I could just bite myself now, because that would have been the PERFECT anniversary present for P. But no. I flinched at the $150. And the tickets were snatched up immediately, of course. I am so lame.

And with that I must say good bye for now. The afternoon is slipping away and I've got much toiling left to do. But, yay, it's Friday!


0 Comment(s)

last - next