navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Hotter 'n Haides
Friday, Jul. 23, 2004, 7:06 am

Eeeeeioooooowwwwwaaaaa I�m melting!!!

The fact is, I�m a wuss when it comes to heat. I think it stems from the fact that I�m a born and bred Pacific Northwesterner, and we just don�t get temperatures above 80 degrees very often. My delicate constitution isn�t used to it.

So yesterday my car said it was 91. I have found the thermometer in my car to be very accurate, and it changes as I drive into pockets of warmer or cooler temperatures. And though it stuck to around 88 degrees almost everywhere I went yesterday afternoon, at one point, as I was driving to pick up my daughter from preschool, it hit 91. Too hot for me.

This is a heat wave for us in the NW. Central a/c isn�t something we require from homebuilders, though the lucky one�s have it. We sure don�t. Our house is like an oven, especially upstairs. My little window a/c unit barely made a dent in it. It wasn�t until around 4 in the morning that it finally started to cool down. It�s only 7 a.m. now, and it�s already heating up. It will be 90 again today and even warmer tomorrow. This kind of heat saps my energy and makes me want to just lounge all day sipping ice water and watching TV. But that�s not on the agenda for today.

Somehow I�ve got to find the energy to start going through our camping gear, taking inventory and making sure we have everything we need for the camping trip that hubby and I are going on week after next. All our stuff is in a state of messiness. I need to air out the tent and sleeping bags. Our little boat needs to be repaired before we can use it. I�ve got a long list of things to do in preparation for the three days P and I will have alone together. In the woods. On edge of a beautiful lake. Just the two of us. Ah, it will be heaven.

We would take B with us, of course, but she�s busy that week. She�s been invited to spend the week at her sister�s house to attend VBS (vacation bible school), which isn�t my cup of tea, but I think she�ll enjoy it. I�m all for exposing her to different viewpoints, and educating her in the beliefs and traditions of other religions. Hey, I was raised Christian, and though it took me 30 years, I managed to find a way to think for myself (finally). I�m hoping B benefits from exposure to Christianity � the good parts of it � and do not intend to shelter her from it. It�s a big part of her sister�s life. But I also hope to encourage independent thinking and a curiosity about other belief systems that she can garner from what she will, and follow her own spiritual path some day. It�s all deep inside of us, this �what it�s all about� stuff. My goal is to get her to think and feel what�s inside of her so she can make her own decisions about spiritual matters. Of course, I will always encourage her to read my books and look at the bible with a very critical eye. In good conscience, I can�t NOT do that. I do have my own beliefs, after all.

Where was I?

So we�ve gotta get stuff sorted out, cleaned, and ready for camping. Not a big job, except for the fact that it�s all out in our dusty musty cluttery garage. Some re-organizing is in order. But how will I manage in this heat? It saps me and zaps me.

My idea of the perfect weather? Sunny, tiny light breeze, 70 degrees. Not one degree higher. See? Told you I�m a wuss.


2 Comment(s)

last - next