navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

The sweetest day
Monday, Jul. 05, 2004, 8:38 am

Okay, which one of you called my husband? :)

My birthday, yesterday, was among the sweetest I can remember (literally and figuratively). I always get up early, before anyone else. I came down the stairs to find balloons everywhere and a box of truffle cherries (with balloons attached to it) perched above my computer keyboard where I'd be sure to see it first thing. No personal holiday has ever passed without P giving me a box of chocolate covered cherries (I love them!). After an hour or two of quiet, wherein I sipped hot tea, caught up on email and D-Land, and watched the sun come round the corner of the house from my deck, the troops began to rise, and by 9:00 we were all out of bed (no small task for us!).

After a yummy breakfast of crepes and fresh sliced strawberries, I was informed by my kinfolk that they couldn't wait another minute and insisted I open my presents. So the three of them retreated downstairs, and when they came back up, they were each carrying a present, wrapped in bright, sparkly blue wrapping paper, complete with bows and cards. The first one was from B, a Special Edition Yahtzee game. We love playing games, and this is one I know we'll play a lot! Lots of kisses and hugs and thank you's to my B.

Next, K gave me a present, which was Boggle , a game I later challenged P to, and won! These kids love board games, and especially love it when we all play together, so these presents were sweet, and appreciated.

P handed me a present from him next, and would't let B help me tear the paper off. I sensed he was proud of it. He had a glint in his eyes and he couldn't stop grinning. I opened the small rectangular package, wondering what it could be. The box revealed its origin. Everyone knows where those shiny silver and gold boxes come from. They are most coveted! Inside the box I found a gift card for this place. I couldn't believe my eyes! Also inside was a booklet of services available. There doesn't seem to be anything this place won't/can't do to pamper a person. P said he thought maybe I'd like to spend a day getting the whole hand and foot treatment (which I would!).

I was so excited, AM so excited about this. P was quite pleased with himself too. Lots of kisses and hugs followed, even a family "pile on Mama and cover her with kisses" event. It could not have been sweeter.

After presents, my girls set about baking me a birthday cake, a tricky proposition since B wanted to "help" her big sister. But K managed quite well, and in the end, they had a yummy smelling, if not slightly misshapen cake. Here are my two girls at the start of the "decorating phase" after the cake cooled:

They had a lot of fun. P and I had a lot of fun watching them. In fact, the whole day was relaxing, loving, and quite enjoyable.

I was very blessed this year, and not just for all the thought and effort my family put forth for my birthday. I felt love, all day long. The things my kids and husband did for me were sweet beyond words, and I love them all so very much.

It was a great day. How could it not be? My husband gave me an awesome "girly" present, and my kids made me a cake!


3 Comment(s)

last - next