navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Whata-drive-thru
Thursday, May. 13, 2004, 7:10 pm

The weather is nice - upper 60's. My hellacious headache was nearly gone today, so I planned a barbeque for dinner. Just hamburgers, but it's still cooking outdoors and feels festive. Got the burgers, buns, cheese, etc. Got the grill cleaned up, briquets hot and ready to go. Phone rings. It's P, 10 minutes away, saying won't have time to come home because he's running late, and remembered he has to go to K's open house at her school, another 30 minutes away. He starts bemoaning the fact that he's hungry, and when he waits too long to eat, he gets shaky and feels sick sometimes. A bad situation for him to be in.

What do I do? Throw the burgers on the grill, suggest he stop by the house quickly, and pick up a burger to eat on the way. He jumps all over it.

The cheese had just melted when he flew through the door. I threw the thing together, wrapped it in a napkin, got a peck on the lips, and he was out the door just as quickly as he arrived.

So my fun evening grilling on the deck, enjoying the warm weather while perhaps even sipping something slushy and alcoholic wasn't to be. Instead, I ate my own burger alone and read diaries.

Not as much fun as I'd planned, but I bet P thinks I'm pretty swell right about now. I'm thinking about leaving the dishes for him. Will he still think I'm swell? I'll risk it.


0 Comment(s)

last - next