navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Could this day get any worse?
Tuesday, Apr. 27, 2004, 7:16 pm

The day started out okay enough. But it took a turn for the worse at lunchtime. Someone stole my sandwich from the refrigerator at work. I put it in there this morning, in a baggie with my name and date clearly written on it. By 11:30 it was gone. I was so mad. This is not the first time some low-life has stolen my lunch. Grrrrr.

Then, later, I had an appointment to have the oil level checked in my car, to make sure everything was okay, since we just had this new engine put in last summer. Engine checked out perfectly. Everything was fine UNTIL the service manager went to back it out of the garage and slammed it right into a concrete post. Smashed bumper, broken tail light, scratches and dents. Real nice. Oh, yes, he was most apologetic. Told me they didn�t want me to drive it home, I needed to leave it there so they could have it repaired. Shouldn�t be longer than a week. Great. But they did offer to spring for a rental car. Duh, the puniest most gutless car available. I could barely fit my body in the backseat to install B�s carseat. You�d think the least they could do is rent for me a car comparable to the one they wrecked. I mean, it�s not MY fault I can�t drive my own car. I�m a working mother, carting around a four year old and all of our paraphernalia. My car is an extension of my home, and I need that space! Now we�re crammed into a little sedan that doesn�t even have enough power to merge onto the freeway safely. Can�t wait for the morning commute.

While waiting for the rental agency�s boy to come fetch me, who, by the way, bore a striking resemblance to Frodo from LOTR, a seriously aggressive storm blew through, with winds strong enough to blow all of the garbage cans and recyling bins in the neighborhood willy nilly, into yards and driveways all over the place. The mess was a sight to behold as I pulled my little hot rod into the driveway. The wind was also strong enough to rip our patio umbrella from its tethers on the deck and send it flying into the street far below. Our little neighbor girl was kind enough to retrieve it for me. Our American flag was also ripped from its proper place, and I found it down below in the landscaping. It wasn�t just the flag, but the pole AND the holder, which was screwed into the siding of the house. The screws were ripped out of the wood. That�s some strong wind.

My poor P has been stuck in a nightmare traffic mess for 2 hours, trying to get home, and even if the traffic were all clear, he�s still an hour away. He called an hour ago and indicated he�d been able to advance about 30 feet since the last time he called, an hour earlier. He�s going to be Mr. Grumpy Pants when he gets home. A six hour commute will do that to you.

The day is almost over, and I�m glad.


2 Comment(s)

last - next