navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

The project from hell is done
Sunday, Apr. 18, 2004, 7:54 am

Once again I am faced with piles of laundry, which I plan to start on any minute now. In addition, all of my beautiful new floors need a good cleaning. There is clutter and dust again, too. Where does all this come from? Ugh. BUT. I am only going to toil the morning hours away today. The afternoon is going to be devoted to leisure, which includes playing and interacting with my child for more than 10 minutes. This remodeling project has taken too much of my time. It is finished now, finally. Allow me to pat myself on the back for a moment. I did an outstanding job. Who knew the mouldings would be the most time intensive part of it? There was simply so much and so many of them. So much measuring, cutting, fitting, nailing, swearing, spackling, caulking, taping, and, finally, painting. I applied my brush to the last one yesterday.

I wish you could see my house. I think you need to see it to understand the scope of this project. I effectively re-did the moulding in our entire main living area, which includes kitchen, breakfast nook, living room, dining room, hallway, and powder/laundry room. Among those various rooms are staircases, closets, cutouts and an island. A lot of wall space, hence, a lot of moulding.

To walk in here and look at it, to estimate the work and the cost, one might totally underestimate the effort required to complete a project like this in one�s �free time,� as we certainly did. I have a new appreciation for carpenters, and especially finish carpenters, whose work is usually a crowning touch and quite visible, and subject to intense scrutiny to all who see it. I cannot enter any place now and not inspect the moulding. And compare it to my moulding. It�s validation for me. I�m finding that the more I check out the moulding in other places, the better my moulding looks to me. All the time I spent being a perfectionist has paid off. My moulding is as nice as I�ve seen. And with that, the Winter Project is over.

But the list of projects yet to be even started grows ever steadily. I�m giving myself some time off, though. No new projects for a few weeks, at least.

Maybe the park today. The weather is supposed to be excellent. Household chores this morning, definitely, then some fun. A little R&R is in order.


0 Comment(s)

last - next