navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

So the family expands again
Monday, Apr. 05, 2004, 8:34 am

I am so very bleary-eyed this morning.

We had N's two kids for the weekend (K and KC) just to give N and her husband a little break so they could run last minute errands and get some things done before the baby arrives, which didn't look to be until Wednesday or so. I was going to drive them home last night.

At 2:00 yesterday afternoon she went into labor!

We kept in touch with them throughout the day, and around 6 pm they decided to make the 30 minute drive to the hospital, where she was promptly checked in. We live only 10 minutes from the hospital, so they told us they'd call as soon as she was give the go ahead to push, which they did at around 10:30 p.m. The kids were bouncing off the walls and there was no way they would sleep without meeting their new baby brother first. So we hightailed it down to the hospital, and had to wait about 45 minutes before we were given the all clear to go in. The baby was born at 11:04 p.m. and the whole family is doing great. Got some nice pics and the kids got to spend some time with their new baby brother.

Baby's first bath and foot-printing session signaled it was time for me to get the kids home and in bed. By the time they fell asleep, I think it was 2 a.m.

P has to go to work this morning, so his alarm was ringing at 6:30, and he wouldn't turn it off. He snoozed it three times. By the third time I said, either get UP or shut that thing off! But it was too late. Alarm clocks wake me up. There ain't no getting back to sleep, no matter how exhausted I am.

Tired and headachey as I am today, my plan is to take the kids out to lunch somewhere and then by the hospital to visit their mom and baby brother again. N's husband will pick them up from our house around 4:30 and take them home. I don't know what the arrangements for the kids are tonight, though. N is staying another night at the hospital.

That's it, really. I'm too tired to be clever or creative with this entry. I just wanna go back to bed. Unfortunately (for this situation), B got a full night's sleep last night, so you know what that means.


1 Comment(s)

last - next