navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Let them eat cake
Thursday, Feb. 05, 2004, 6:17 pm

Some days it's your "day" to shop, and I guess today was mine.

Tomorrow is my best co-worker friend's 40th birthday, so yesterday I ordered a nifty birthday cake from the newly opened S4m's down the street, and I went in today to pick it up. That's all I went in there for. The cake I ordered was white with chocolate filling, white butter cream frosting with hot pink frosting around the edges, colorful frosting balloons, and a birthday message. A really cute cake. Well. Apparently, my order was misplaced because my cake was nowhere to be found. The young man working behind the bakery counter was very apologetic and offered me another cake, which he would write my greeting on. I agreed, although the cake I ended up choosing was completely ugly compared to the one I ordered. Oh, well. As he was writing on it, he messed up a bit, smeared the frosting a bit, and was mortified. So he gave me the cake for free. A giant half sheet cake. Wow, I thought. That's really nice.

As I was leaving with my free cake, I spied the flower counter, and went over to pick up some birthday flowers, since I didn't have to pay for the cake. There wasn't anyone around to help me. I wandered around a little, looking for someone, finally flagging down a haggered looking young man, who seemed lost. Just as I was explaining what I wanted (a simple vase with a pre-cut bouquet of flowers, in a box with tissue), the manager came over. He had witnessed what happened in the cake department, and really wanted to make sure I got what I wanted. But the flower person had left early, and there was no one to help me. He, too, was very apologetic. I said, "Well, I'm batting a thousand here today. Bye!" And I left for the checkout lane, to pay for the shirt I picked up for P.

As I got up to the checkout counter, the manager appeared again, with a huge fluffy stuffed teddy bear in a valentine's arrangement with silk flowers. He put it in my cart and said it was free, for my inconvenience, and because I couldn't get the flowers I wanted. I was amazed, and grateful. So after using the $10 gift card I got last week when I got my new membership, the shirt came to $8.83.

I walked out the door with a half sheet cake, a big teddy bear and silk flower arrangement, and a nifty new shirt for P. All for $8.83.

Granted, the cake is fugly, but I'm hoping it will make for an amusing story tomorrow. The teddy bear will be B's Valentine's present, and the silk flower arrangement will be co-worker friend's Valentine's present. My Valentine's shopping is almost done and I haven't spent a penny yet!

Those S4m's guys sure know how to take care of their customers. They must know I'm good for $100 every time I come in from now on. It's inevitable.


0 Comment(s)

last - next