navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Ice Ice Baby
Wednesday, Jan. 07, 2004, 8:54 pm

Fierce weather here. On Tuesday, which was yesterday, we got snow snow snow, then it changed to freezing rain.

Ever wonder what happens to your outdoor bushes/trees when the sky drops freezing rain on them all night? Here's a photo I snapped early this morning of a little tree-like bush outside our house. All of its little branch buds are encased in tubes of ice:

Here's a shot of our little tree, all of its branches also encased in ice tubes:

As a matter of fact, every thing outside was encased in ice. Even my car, which took over an HOUR to break into, warm up, and de-ice enough to actually drive:

I couldn't get any of the doors open, except for the back hatch, so I had to crawl over all of the seats and squeeze myself into the driver's seat. Then I had to body slam myself against the driver's door to get it to open. Big quarter inch thick sheets of ice breaking and crashing all around me. Freaky weird.

It's raining now, and it's all melting. Almost all gone, in fact, except for the 6 inch layer of compacted snow/slush/ice covering our driveway. But by morning, it should be gone, too.

Now the flooding. What a mess.


1 Comment(s)

last - next