navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

Cleaning, shopping, relaxing in the new year
Saturday, Jan. 03, 2004, 8:08 am

Must jot down this story for posterity (for B�s memory book).

On Sundays we like to go to a little neighborhood caf� for breakfast. It�s �our� place, I guess. Nothing fancy, kind of run down actually, but the breakfasts are good, and it�s noisy enough that we can take B without worrying too much about her bothering other diners. She�s fascinated by the concept of being able to tell someone what you want, and having them bring it to you.

The other day I was getting lunch ready for us, and B strolled into the kitchen, asked what I was preparing, then proclaimed that she wanted toast and jelly for lunch. I told her we were having whatever it was (can�t remember now), and she returned to her three year old activities. When lunch was served, I called her in, we all sat down and she looked at her food. Then she said, �Mama, I ordered toast."

Hmm. How to respond? I just looked at her blankly, stooped down to her level, and said, �First of all, this is NOT a restaurant. Secondly, I am NOT your server and you will eat what the rest of the family is eating.� She looked at me, clearly puzzled. But she didn�t pursue it further.

She didn�t leave a tip, though.

We took down the Christmas tree and outdoor lights yesterday. There weren�t many decorations this year, and it didn�t take long, but I�m glad to reclaim all of the living room again. This year, instead of spending hours picking out and vacuuming up pine needles from every corner of the carpeting, I simply grabbed my broom and swept it up in no time at all. This new floor is paying benefits already.

On New Year�s Day, while B was happily visiting her sister at her other house, which turned into a three day � two night holiday for P and me, we decided to pay a visit to P�s favorite home electronic superstore. P has been researching home theater systems for weeks on end, and had narrowed his search down to a few different systems, and we wanted to see them in person, take them for a test drive (test listen?), and then decide if we wanted to spend the money. Several hours later, and after hemming and hawing over the system we thought we wanted originally, (this one) we actually came home with something else. It puts all other speakers in our house to shame (and with P�s electronic addiction, we have a lot of speakers). The amp and subwolfer are so sleek, yet powerful. I don�t even mind the way they look, which is what has put me off about other systems.

We watched TLOR (Fellowship of the Ring), and it was amazing. Sounds just like a theater! I bet our neighbors are hating us.

I�m going to re-hang my curtains today. And then I�m going to watch my Pirates movie (me loves Johnny D4pp as a pirate). This time I�ll be able to actually hear the dialogue! After that, it�ll be time to fetch the child, which is good, because I miss her.

More snow expected today, actually, it was expected last night, but I�m not too worried about it. No significant hills to travel up or down on the way out to pick her up, so I�ll just take it real slow and try to avoid sliding on the ice. Hopefully, by this afternoon it will be melted.

Wow, it�s January 3rd already. Time is flying.


1 Comment(s)

last - next