navigate
current
archives
sign
notes
host
design

random
info
mail


Recently

Saturday update - Saturday, Jun. 11, 2005
The woman I've been waiting for - Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005
Get Lost - Monday, May. 23, 2005
So much to catch up on! - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
Returning home? - Saturday, May. 21, 2005

The Smart Asses
Sunday, Sept. 15, 2002, 7:53 pm

As usual, the weekend went by far too quickly. I managed to complete a project, though. On Saturday, I installed a ceiling fan w/light. It was my first project involving electricity. It went pretty well. The old fixture came out without a hitch, and the electrical box that was already installed in the ceiling was fine for the fan kit we bought. So basically, it was an easy installation.

We ordered pizza for dinner that night, and B was being her typical two year old self. Refusing to sit still, stay at the table, eat her food, etc. At one point, after I'd admonished her to sit up and eat her pizza for about the 10th time, she squinted her eyes, and said, "Don't piss me off, Mama."

Shocked, I turned to P and asked him if he heard what she just said to me. Maybe I didn't hear her correctly? Yup. He heard it. It was all he could do to keep from smiling. Sure, it was cute. But also, it wasn't, you know?

This is not something that we ever say to B, or to each other. We can't figure out where she picked it up. Unless one of the kids at her daycare says it. It must be that. So now I need to speak to her teacher to see if any of the other kids are using "colorful" language, and try to figure out where it's coming from.

All right. I have a confession. While I don't use that particular expression around B, sometimes when I'm driving and some other driver does something boneheaded, I vocalize my frustration. Often I forget B is in the backseat and has the little tape recorder in her brain turned on. It became quite clear to me how much I need to control my verbalizations just the other day.

We were stopped at a light behind 3 or 4 other cars. The light turned green, but, of course, the cars didn't begin moving immediately. B yelled, "Dude! What are you doing? Green means go!"

Time to reign myself in -- especially around B. Really, I don't swear around her. I don't call people nasty names, or anything like that. But still. I'm turning her into a smart ass, and it needs to stop.

She's a junior smart ass. And I�m Smart Ass Senior. Time for a change.


0 Comment(s)

last - next